11.4. Reinitializing a snapshot

Snapshots can be reinitialized. Reinitializing causes all of the saved data to be erased and starts the snapshot from the current point in time. A reinitialized snapshot has the same original, chunk size, and writeable flags as the original snapshot.

To reinitialize a snapshot, use the Reset command on the snapshot object (not the snapshot volume). This command reinitializes the snapshot without requiring you to manually deactivate and reactivate the volume. The snapshot must be active but unmounted for it to be reinitialized.

This section continues the example from the previous section, where a snapshot object and volume were created. The snapshot object is called "snap" and the volume is called "/dev/evms/snap."

11.4.1. Using the EVMS GUI or Ncurses

To reinitialize a snapshot, follow these steps:

  1. Select Actions->Other->Storage Object Tasks

  2. Select the volume "snap."

  3. Click or activate Next.

  4. Select Reset.

  5. Click or activate Next.

  6. Click or activate Reset on the action panel.

  7. Click or activate Reset on the warning panel.

Alternatively, you can perform these same steps with the context sensitive menus:

  1. From the Feature Objects panel, right click (or press Enter on) the object snap.

  2. Click or activate Reset on the popup menu.

  3. Click or activate Reset on the action panel.

  4. Click or activate Reset on the warning panel.

11.4.2. Using the CLI

Follow these steps to reinitialize a snapshot with the CLI:

  1. Issue the following command to the CLI:

  2. Press Enter to select "Reset" (the default choice) at the warning message.